East Bay Legislators Urge BART Agreement Today

Monday, October 21, 2013

(Oakland, CA) – Assemblymembers Rob Bonta, Bill Quirk, Nancy Skinner, and Bob Wieckowski and State Senators Ellen Corbett and Loni Hancock have released the following statement on the ongoing negotiations between BART and its employees:

Our hearts go out to the family members who lost their loved ones in this weekend’s tragic accident.  BART, its employees, Board and management are grieving.  The time is now to start the healing.  For the benefit of the public, riders, Bay Area businesses and the entire BART family, it is critical to get the trains running tomorrow. As Legislators and concerned residents, we have been monitoring negotiations and encouraging both parties to resolve their issues. Thank you to the mediators for their hard work, and thank you to BART and its employees for reaching to seek common ground.  We understand there are only a few outstanding issues.  We call on the parties to resolve those issues today and get the trains running tomorrow.

Contacts

Office of Assemblymember Rob Bonta
Amy Alley - (916) 319-2018; amy.alley@asm.ca.gov

Office of Assemblymember Bill Quirk
Sean Henschel - (916) 319-2020; sean.henschel@asm.ca.gov
Office of Assemblymember Nancy Skinner
Tracie Morales - (510) 286-1400; tracie.morales@asm.ca.gov

Office of Assemblymember Bob Wieckowski
Jeff Barbosa - (916) 319-2025; jeff.barbosa@asm.ca.gov

Office of Senator Ellen Corbett
Sergio Reyes - (916) 651-4010; sergio.reyes@sen.ca.gov

Office of Senator Loni Hancock
Larry Levin - (916) 651-4009; larry.levin@sen.ca.gov