Committee Approves AB 180 - Firearm Measure To Protect Oakland

Tuesday, May 7, 2013

(SACRAMENTO, CA) – Today, the Assembly Public Safety Committee approved AB 180, authored by Assemblymember Rob Bonta (D-Oakland). AB 180 would provide the City of Oakland with the additional tools that it needs to curb gun violence. Bonta made the following statement after the measure passed:

“Across our state, communities are suffering from a devastating combination of budget cuts to public safety and coinciding increases in violent crime. No one can deny that Oakland is suffering from among the worst gun violence in the state and in the nation. Oakland suffered from 131 homicides in 2012 – 21 more than 2011 and the highest in six years. Twelve of those victims were children. And Oakland has seen another 34 murders as of this past Sunday.

“Under AB 180, the City of Oakland would be given the authority to regulate the registration of firearms and licensing of gun owners---areas which are currently pre-empted by state law. AB 180 is a smart and sensible bill that empowers Oakland and provides local control in addressing gun violence,” concluded Bonta.
Oakland City Councilmember Libby Schaaf was present to offer testimony in support of AB 180:

“I want to thank Assemblymember Bonta for authoring AB 180. Oakland faces an urgent need to address rising levels of gun violence. Last year Oakland had more than 4,000 gun related crimes. AB 180 would allow Oakland to more quickly remove firearms from prohibited persons and better identify criminals involved in illegal gun trafficking.”
AB 180 now heads to the Assembly Floor for a full vote of the house.

Assemblymember Bonta Chairs the Assembly Select Committee on Gun Violence in the East Bay, which will hold its first hearing on Friday, May 17th, 2013 from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. at the Auditorium of the Elihu M. Harris State Building in Oakland (1515 Clay Street, Oakland, CA 94612).

Assemblymember Rob Bonta represents the 18th Assembly District, which includes Oakland, Alameda and San Leandro. He is the Chair of the Assembly Public Employees, Retirement, and Social Security Committee, and a member of the Assembly Health, Transportation, Banking & Finance, and Elections & Redistricting Committees.